Playing an instrument

Making music has always been a big part of my life.

When I was 6 years old I started to go to music lessons. I learned how to read music sheets, sing songs and play the flute. We had 2 years of those general music lessons.

After those 2 years, you got to choose an instrument. I really wanted to play piano but my mom wouldn’t let me (she convinced me that it was to big for our house). So I decided to play the guitar and get lessons.

I was a 8 years old girl with a big guitar. But when I started to play, I immediately fell in love. I could sing and play an instrument at the same time! Although my singing sounded horrible, I enjoyed it.

At 13 years old, I saw Grace VanderWaal on America Got Talent. You can watch the video here. And wow, I was so amazed by her ukelele and voice. A month after I saw the video, I bought my own ukelele. Because I already played the guitar, ukelele wasn’t that hard for me. I learned a few songs by myself but after a while I decided I liked the guitar better.

When I was 14 years old, i still wanted to learn how to play piano. So I saved up my birthday money to buy my own keyboard. I had enough space in my bedroom to put my keyboard. And let me say, the first few weeks it was all I did, teaching myself to play piano.

Now, 2 years later at 16 years old, playing the guitar and piano are one of my favorite hobbies. Almost everyday I play one (or both) of the instruments.

What kind of instrument do you play? And if you don’t play an instrument, which instrument do you want to learn to play?

#blog #teen #music #guitar #ukelele #piano